Thanksgiving Recap

Our first Thanksgiving was great! I cooked most of Wednesday and Thursday until our dinner at 5 that evening. I tried a ton of new recipes that I’d never made before and most were foods I’ve never even eaten before. It was a lot of work, but a lot of fun! I’ll post links to the recipes I used at the end of the post. For now, here are a few pictures from the day.

The table all set up and ready for our guests.

 

Murphy watched the National Dog Show while I cooked. He loved it! His little tail would wag so fast when the dogs trotted out. He was sad that the Wheaten terrier didn’t place though.

 

The spread. I meant to buy a drop cloth for the table, but never got around to it. So I took down one of my drop cloth curtains. You gotta do, what you’ve gotta do! It was perfectly clean afterward except a huge spot of cranberry sauce that was spilled. The husband admitted later that it was him that dropped it. I guess I was taking my chances. 🙂 Good thing they’re cheap!


My little table decor I made with contractor’s paper, yarn, wax paper flowers, twine, etc.

 

The niece and nephew 🙂  The wreath is this kit from Paper Source. It was a major pain. I’m all for DIY, but I think they should sell these preassembled.

 

Caleb training Murphy.

 

Morgan and I chilling out on the couch.

 

Here’s the list of food I put together

Ham

Dressing (a mix between my grandmother’s recipe and this one)

Green Bean Casserole

Mac n Cheese (granny’s recipe)

Roasted Carrots

Mashed Potatoes

Sweet Potato Casserole

Parker Rolls with honey butter

Cranberry Sauce

White peas

And our guests brought the turkey! 🙂

 

3 responses to “Thanksgiving Recap

  1. I love the picture of Murphy watching the computer. Adorable. Everything looked great. I especially love your banner.

  2. Kellie

    Jasper and Mickey and I watched the dog show too!!! We always pull for the terriers!

  3. Leah Richardson

    Love your stuff, Lauren! I bet the food was great! Oh! I love working with contractor paper and twine, too! They just seem old-timey to me or something!

Leave a Reply

