Living Frugal: Kill Your TV

Aardvark Manifesto by Keep Calm Gallery

The husband and I have been aggressively paying down our student loans for about two years (with an end in sight next year!). It’s definitely become a fun little game to see how we can cut costs whether it be by shopping smarter, making things from scratch, coming up with free ‘dates’, or just plain doing without.

We’ve been talking about going ‘cable free’ for about a year now and finally got up the guts to go through with it. The first few days were a little rough. Cable was something I’d had since birth basically, so to go cold turkey was a little shock. After those first few days though, I found some freedom to it.  I could do whatever I wanted! I could listen to music, bake, read, or just be. Not that I was forced to sit in front of the tv when I had it, but there was a certain familiarity and calling that came from that big black screen. I’d have it on as background noise and get sucked in to all kinds of gross programming. As a matter of fact, the very last show we watched before the the cable got cut was ‘Sex Decoy: Love Stings’, where spouses or significant others sent in a ‘decoy’ to try to catch them cheating on camera. Seriously!? It just reaffirmed our decision to ‘cut the crap’. haha

If you’re on the fence…it is possible! There is life after tv and actually a life more fulfilled. Remember, there’s always Hulu.com which is free or Netflix, for a small subscription, to catch up on any truly must see shows.

We have so many distractions in this technology saturated world. I’ve by no means cut out all of them, but it’s kind of nice to have one less thing to be sucked into (and one less bill to pay).

5 responses to “Living Frugal: Kill Your TV

  1. Samantha

    Hey Lauren …

    Chris and I went cable free for a year when we first got married. While I do love my occasional show–obsessions, I dread turning the tv on on Saturday mornings and most of the time realize I seem to just put it on HGTV just for background noise. I wouldn’t mind living sans cable but I did buy the hubby a big screen last year for our anniversary — we couldn’t live without football in the fall for sure. Good luck though ~ I’m sure you all will enjoy it!

  2. laurenmakes

    Oh yeah Samantha. I know football season will be a challenge for us! We figure for the big games we’ll head out to a sports bar or over to friends or family to watch. 🙂

  3. I just turned off our cable (& home phone) last week! Our bill went from $153 to $49.95 and I’ve got so much more free time. Without the option to watch TV, I find myself actually doing things that should have gotten done a long time ago.

  4. that’s awesome! i lived on netflix and will&grace dvds for the first year after college graduation before getting married!! it’s definitely doable..

  5. Most of the major networks have full episodes of their shows on their websites that you can watch for free as well! I even discovered a few shows on Fox’s site and ABC’s site that I never watched on regular TV, but I watched online. And they have several episodes available, so you can watch several in a row if you want – kind of like watching from Netflix, except you don’t have to wait for the next disc!

Leave a Reply

