Restaurant Style Salsa

With Cinco de Mayo coming up tomorrow, I thought I’d throw a little Mexican flavor your way. I will fully admit that I have a salsa addiction. That’s mostly what brought me to wanting to create my own salsa at home. I was spending a ridiculous amount of money on that jarred Pace stuff! Luckily, my friend Bev came to the rescue. Her and her mom cracked the Mexican restaurant salsa code. It’s so easy and delicious! I haven’t bought any of the jarred stuff in over 6 months and I’m sure I’ll never go back.

So let’s get started…the fiestas will be here soon and you need to get this stuff in the fridge!

Here’s what you’ll need.

  • 1/4 cup sliced jalapeños
  • Garlic Salt
  • Table Salt
  • Whole Peeled Tomatoes (big can or two regular sized cans)

Yep, that’s it.

Open up your whole peeled tomatoes and pull out all but 2 or 3. Pop those in your food processor and blend until desired consistency. The husband hates ‘chunky’, so I really puree this stuff down.  Once that’s blended, pour into a bowl.

Then put the remaining tomatoes and juice into the processor along with 1/4 cup of jalapeños. 1/4 cup gives a pretty good kick. A smidge spicier than what I’d consider “Mild”. If you like it really spicy, give a little more or a little less to make it milder. Blend this mixture up well to make sure you chop up all those little peppers!

Pour this mixture in with the first. Add garlic salt and salt to taste and stir well. Then refrigerate. I like to let it sit in the fridge at least a couple of hours to let all the flavors start working together. We’ve found the longer it stays in, the bolder the batch.

You can jar this up and pass on to friends for a Cinco de Mayo treat….

Or bust out the chips and eat it all yourself!

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Restaurant Style Salsa

  1. This looks so good! I will definitely have to try it.

  2. Kyle

    YUM! I hate chunky store-bought salsa as well. I’m trying this tomorrow. Thanks Lauren!!!

  3. What a great easy salsa recipe, I’ll keep this in mind for my next party.

  4. I have to try this. This looks so yummy and simple! I love salsa, too. I’m usually a maker of pico de gallo.

Leave a Reply

