Special Delivery

Amber Lee over at Giver’s Log recently started up a new series called ’13 oz and less’ with ideas for fun, unique gifts you can send in the mail. Have you guys visited Giver’s Log, by the way? It’s filled to the brim with gift ideas for all occasions and she comes up with the neatest stuff. I love it so!

Anyhow, I was inspired by her ideas and decided to do one myself. My sister in law, Elizabeth, is about to have my first little nephew (on my side) in the next few weeks. I know the anticipation for that little guy is killing them (as it is me), so I sent her a countdown chain to help pass the days away.  I’ve been making these my whole life to countdown to events. It helps give me some satisfaction to pull a ring off every day until the BIG day..whatever that may be. 🙂

I started with my box first. I knew I’d need something sturdy to keep my chain from getting smushed. I had this nice box leftover from a thank you card set I got a long time ago.

Then I made this little card to fit inside. The babe doesn’t have an official name just yet, so I call him ‘Baby A’ for now. On the back of the card, there’s a hand written letter letting them know how much we love them, what great parents they’ll be, etc…You know, all that mushy stuff. 🙂

I made my teeny little chain with scrapbook paper and double sided tape.

I taped it up with my washi tape and made an address label with scrapbooking paper and cardstock. I made a matching return address label, which was stuck to the back, but found out at the post office that any box mailed has to have the return address on the front, so I had to hand write that on there last minute. It wasn’t as cute, but it made it there in one piece, which was the whole point. 🙂  And if you’re curious, it was $1.73 to mail out and the gift itself was free. I hope they enjoyed it!

These would be great little surprises to countdown to birthdays, weddings, graduations, or any other event.

Head over to Giver’s Log or her flickr group to check out more fun mailable gift ideas!

7 responses to “Special Delivery

  1. What a lucky nephew! He hasn’t even made his big arrival yet and already is getting love from his aunt.

    Every detail is so pretty! What is that font? I love it. I’m sorry about the return label. The postal workers at my post office must not know all the rules b/c they’ve let me get away with the return address on the back. I’ll have to be careful.

  2. What a great idea, and boo hoo to the post office. Couldn’t they see how stylish the box was?

  3. Heather Beard (Wilson)

    Cute Lauren! I can’t wait to meet this new baby either and I am not even related to you 🙂

  4. Pingback: Bits of Thoughtfulness | giverslog.com

  5. oh i love this idea! i can’t wait to copy it for myself. i love amber lee’s 13 oz or less series. what fun to get something special in the mail

  6. That is a very fun, sweet (and cheap) idea. Tucking it away for later.

  7. Pingback: Countdown Chain Freebie « Laurenmakes’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

