Kitchen Facelift

We completed our little kitchen makeover over a year ago. After seeing Ashley Ann’s kitchen remodel and how similar it was to ours, it reminded me that I never shared it here!

First we removed all the wallpaper, which I’m happy to say got rid of every bit of wallpaper in the house. I HATE removing that stuff. Especially above the cabinets. I thought I’d never make it through. Then we painted the walls with Martha Stewart’s Forest Lichen. We sanded all the cabinets and doors (we removed the doors). We painted them with Valspar Bermuda Sand Interior Semigloss with a small foam roller (these can be found at Lowe’s in the paint section. They’re actually called cabinet painting kits). We put up new hardware and towel racks at each end of the island. An electrician hung new lights above the island and over the sink. We also put in the mini backsplash behind the stove.

We replaced the light fixture above the table. Before there was a hideous golden fan! (I do have all matching chairs now for the dining room table. I know yall were concerned. haha) We also hung up the white shelves for extra storage. I love styling them.

We removed the two doors above the desk area to help open it up. I painted the inside of this cabinet to match the island. We also attached wine glass racks underneath.

I still love it. It feels so much bigger, open and airer and definitely much more us. Just goes to show that paint, some new hardware, and a little hardwork can make a HUGE difference.

Oh, and this was actually a project for Lowe’s Creative Ideas. You can check their write up here. (I had a small cameo ;)) You can also see our little foyer makeover here.

4 responses to “Kitchen Facelift

  1. kelliebelle

    Wow, I never saw the after pics, it looks great Lauren!!

  2. I love it, Lauren. I esp. love the colors you chose and the lighting fixtures. I’m positively drooling over the light fixtures.

  3. That looks great! I really like that you painted the island a different color. Nice work!

  4. wow. it’s totally gorgeous. love the open cabinets with the dark interior. so pretty. what a happy place to cook.

Leave a Reply

