Heavenly Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I’m finally joining in the Dare to DIY party that Kim’s been hosting for the past few weeks.

This week’s assignment was Dare to….Eat Cookies. Now I think that’s all one we can get on board for, right? πŸ™‚

Heavenly Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  • 3/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 2 tablespoons instant coffee granules
  • 2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 (11.5 ounce) package semisweet chocolate mega-morsels or chocolate chunks*
  • 1 cup walnut halves, toasted

– Combine butter and coffee granules in a small saucepan or skillet. Cook over medium-low heat until butter melts and coffee granuiles dissolve, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat, and cool to room temperature (don’t let butter resolidify).

– Combine flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

– Combine butter mixture, sugars, egg, and egg yolk in a large bowl. Beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until blended. Gradually add flour mixture, beating at lowe speed just until blended. Stir in chocolate mega-morsels and walnuts.

– Drop dough by heaping tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.

– Bake at 325 for 12 to 14 minutes. Cool cookies slightly on baking sheets. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

*I used half a bag of regular sized semisweet chocolate chips

Yield: 20 cookies

Source: Southern Living Incredible Cookies

These turned out to be so chewy and delish! I’m sure I’ll be making more of these over the holidays.

Happy baking!!

13 responses to “Heavenly Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. Those look SO good. Oh my word.

    And, I love your photographs. You are an excellent photographer, Lauren. I love how you put the name of the cookie around the plate. I’m feeling inspired. =)

  2. mmmm hungry now…these sound amazing

  3. These look very tempting! And I agree with Kim on the photography. The milk and the writing on the plate. Love it!

  4. I don’t think heavenly begins to describe it!

  5. Walnuts, chocolate, and coffee- that’s a delicious mix! They sound great!

  6. I am from Birmingham! I have lived here all my life- love it! Did you go to Christmas village?

  7. laurenmakes

    Nope. never been! I totally should though. I’d love to chat more..out of the public eye. haha. I actually have some questions about teaching…thinking about making the switch πŸ™‚
    laurenmakes at gmail dot com

  8. Jenna

    I’m trying these right now! Can’t wait to taste them! I’m hoping they are the perfect thing to bring to a cookie swap. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Jenna

    I just finished making these, and while they are delicious (!) they don’t look like yours because they stayed in lumps and didn’t spread out. Also the dough was really stiff and I had to kind of knead the walnuts and chocolate into the dough. Did I do something wrong? Is there supposed to be more butter? Help!

  10. laurenmakes

    jenna, i am SO sorry. i made them myself for a 2nd time using the recipe from my blog and they didn’t turn out the same either. seems I mistyped the butter amount. it should be 3/4 cup instead of 1/4. I’m glad yours still tasted ok! I should proofread a few times before posting things next time! haha

  11. Jenna

    No problem! I tried them again with more butter – perfection! I’ve already had requests for the recipe. πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Mid-Week Inspiration: Yummy Foods | Delighting in Today

  13. I featured these on my blog today! I’m still in love with them even years after I first tried them. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

