Hold the press…

I actually finished a craft! This is quite the accomplishment for me. Often times I get so caught up in finding pretty, neat things online that I can’t find the time to try them out. And usually on the occasion I do happen to start a project I either don’t finish it or it turns out to be a bust.

So I’m proud to announce, my felt garland. And please excuse the blurriness of the photos. I had to go no flash to really see the colors. I should’ve dragged the tripod out.

dscf4517

I originally saw the idea from Ali Edwards a couple of weeks ago. I’ve been working on it on and off for about a week now. I bought the large felt sheets from Hobby Lobby and cut into small squares. They were not all perfectly the same size by any means. I think a little variation makes it more fun. I threaded the squares together with floral wire.

dscf4572

It’s a very time consuming project, but it’s nice because you really don’t have to ‘think’.

And just for kicks..check out our new foyer! More info to come soon on this little makeover. No stockings yet. Those are also on the ‘to do’ list.

dscf45311

We used this for our wedding last year. We hung 2 on the doors of the reception hall with a satin sash with our initials on it. My mom put these together. I love how simple and bold they are. I’ll probably rehang them for Valentine’s day as well 🙂

dscf4558

8 responses to “Hold the press…

  1. Kim

    I love your foyer, lovin’ the green table-ish mantle on the wall. And, that wreath is totally fabulous. Are they faux carnations??? Awesome.

  2. Lauren I am afraid I will have to steal your mantle idea- I have been whining since we bought our house that I have no mantle because there’s no fireplace… and look how you solved that! Mind if I steal the idea? I’ll give you credit of course 🙂

  3. laurenmakes

    thanks girls!

    yep kim…totally fake. so they will last FOREVER..which is good b/c I’m too in love with them to see them die.

    even better….i got all the carnations 75% off at hobby lobby after july 4th. steal! 🙂

  4. joi

    Gorgeous! Love your felt garland, and your mural in your entry way!

    And that wreat—I see a recreation in my future! ; )

    Thanks!

  5. Pingback: KimberlyMichelle · felt goodness

  6. Wow, it’s gorgeous! Amazing job!

  7. It looks great!!! I love the bright red with the yellower-green mantle. Festive but not typical.

    You could whip that red wreath out for Christmas, Valentines, AND 4th of July. Gotta love red, so versitile.

    I think you should do a house tour in another post. Your foyer has piqued my curiosity.

  8. Melissa

    I love it.. I might have to try that!

Leave a Reply

