DIY artwork

I’m ashamed to say that I have a case of the bare walls at my house. I have a lot of posters from my college days, but I want to upgrade for our house. There’s much more permanence in what we put up now…any hole we make, we’ll have to fix.

I’d like what we put up to reflect our personalities…so of course I’m looking at different ideas to make our own artwork

I absolutely love this idea from Ali Edwards.

She used a vintage letterpress type drawer and filled it with pictures, keepsakes and scrapbooking embellishments. It’s beautiful! I’m already scouring ebay for a drawer/case of my very own.

And to go along with the letterpress theme…I think this block letter W (for our names’ sake) would look quite nice hanging somewhere.

Do you have any ideas for DIY artwork that you’d like to share? I’d love to hear them!

4 responses to “DIY artwork

  1. Kim

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the first photo…. I think I’m going to have to keep this for my future.

    I have done/am working on a few DIY artwork pieces to make them more personal and *cheaper*-
    – Bought plain canvases to cover with pretty fabric from the fabric store to arrange together on a wall
    – Putting vinyl designs on an original window from our house to hang as the big art piece in our living room (can get the vinyl pieces personalized as well)
    – Received 2×2 ornate ceiling tiles online (free samples, I only payed for shipping) and I’m planning to spray paint them to match our decor this weekend and then we are going to arrange them together in the room

    Not nearly as time intensive as your first example, but I’m happy to be able to do it myself! =)

  2. happyhopefuls

    Love this idea! I like different yet so unique pieces for the wall! Love this especially! =)

  3. Diana

    Oh man! I am going to have to do that if I ever find one of those drawers!

  4. Pingback: Look what I got!!!

Leave a Reply

