DIY Nursery Curtains

The curtains are finished! I let these things stress me out a little. When we found out we were having a boy, I knew right away that I wanted thick striped white and navy curtains. I’ve seen lots of DIY versions from painting, to sewing on stripes, or just finding thick striped fabric (which was pretty much impossible and expensive!).

I was a little down because it didn’t seem to be working out and then I saw these duvet covers at Target.

They were perfect! I bought two twin sized at $19.99/each. Not only are they the perfect color and stripe thickness, but they’re already lined while being light enough to look like a curtain. I didn’t have to hem them either! I just clipped them up, so if we want, we can totally take these down and use as a duvet on his big boy bed down the road.

We made the curtain rod using electrical conduit that we got for a couple of dollars and simple brackets from Home Depot. The finials and curtain rings are from Ikea. I used this tutorial from House of Hepworth’s for the rod and hanging the duvets. Pretty darn simple!

Up close of the rod and finial.

I love them. They were exactly what I wanted, required no sewing, and were cheap! We spent around $60 for the whole set up (curtains, rod, finials, etc). And…they can be used later as actual duvet covers.

11 responses to “DIY Nursery Curtains

  1. That is brilliant! I’ve been on the lookout for striped curtains and these might just fit the bill! I would need four duvet covers to work in my guest room, but that is still much cheaper than purchasing curtains. Thanks for the amazing tip. I’m definitely going to pin this so I can remember to do it.

  2. forricher

    These look amazing! I love the idea of using a duvet so much. it really opens up options for patterns. What an awesome idea and the stripes truly make the room. I kind of want these exact duvet curtains in my living room now.

    • laurenmakes

      I actually wanted something like this in our living room too! I originally bought the King sized duvet and hung them in the living room for a day before we got our rod up. They looked AWESOME! Trying to justify hanging the same stripey curtains in multiple rooms. :)

  3. This looks amazing! What a statemer in the room. What a fabulous idea to use a duvet. never considered that and the options are endless. I think these exact cursing would look great in the living room.

  4. cllrjc

    Such a great idea, they look really thick and expensive!

  5. Biddy

    What kind of clips did you use?

  6. Martha Riad

    I tried this in my sons room and it looks great. The only thing is the stripes don’t match up like yours. The duvets are slightly off. One starting with a blue stripe, the other blue. Should I return one and get another that matches more closely? Did you hang the duvets with the buttons on the bottom or top? Thanks for the great idea!

  7. Tori

    I was looking for the exact same style of curtain and it was impossible to find! I actually have the grey version of this duvet cover on the bed in our spare room! I never even THOUGHT to use them as curtains! Genius!!

  8. You are a genius! I just have been going through the same ordeal for my 2.5 year olds ” Big Boy Room” and could not find these anywhere! Thank you so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

